Getting published

After working towards my Ph.D. for a number of years, I’m finally getting around to being published in my field. It feels like a confirmation – not just of the work I’ve been doing in the past few years, but also of my abilities and of my desire to join in conversation with others.

There is one ironical thing about the publishing, though. The publication is in dutch. I’m a native english speaker – and I’ve known/spoken dutch for only four years, mostly informally (as the academic stuff has been primarily English). So publishing in Dutch doesn’t seem like the most obvious way to begin, but I’m discovering that sometimes the conversation partners you’re given aren’t the most obvious ones. Perhaps it is also because it is not the obvious conversation partners that I have something extra/special to contribute.

Leave a Reply

